3DSC, Day 14: Best song by a boy band or girl group

This pic stolen from Rofl Razzi.

edited by ANDREW HICKS
creatively conceived by J.MIZ

WNF 30-DAY SONG CHALLENGE
DAY 14: FAVORITE SONG BY A BOY BAND OR GIRL GROUP

WOO
“I Want It That Way” by the Backstreet Boys not only has a nice soft groove to move to, it also serves as reminder that “Y” can be used as a vowel sound. (“Tell me why-eeeeee.”)

ANNE GARDNER
I wasnt really allowed to listen to secular music growing up, so I missed a lot. I was, however, “down with the DC Talk.” I liked that song, “That Kinda Girl,” about the perfect Christian woman. I felt like the boys were singing it just for me. I was, after all, the picture of virtuousness… Virtuosity… Virtuously…. Virtuism… Fuck it… Whatever…

WOO
I used to listen to this Messikan rapper named T-Bone who did Christian hip-hop. Of course, I always listened to secular too. I was rather lucky, as my parents took a religious hiatus from the time I was 9 until I was 19. I got to enjoy my teen years without psychotic restrictions on things like music and clothing. However, my attempts to draw a pentagram on the basement floor were always thwarted before I could get the candles lit.

ANNE GARDNER
I used to sneak-listen to New Kids on the Block. I loved their song “Hangin’ Tough” and had a poster of a cat on my wall hanging by just one paw from a clothes line or something. It was my private rebellion against my parents. And, I had a secret crush on Donnie Walhberg. I didn’t find out until later that it was his brother Mark that gave me the really good vibrations. #funkybunch

ANDREW HICKS
“MMMBop” is still damn catchy, and I bet in the years since, the members of Hanson have grown up to be some very stunning, handsome women.

C.J. DODD
“Judas” by Lady Gaga. I technically consider her recordings to be a “band performance” because she has two sets of genitals.

ANNE GARDNER
I heard somewhere that Gaga’s shoulder horns are going to start backup singing on her next tour.

EMILY TOOPS
Too bad Enrique Iglesias doesn’t count as a group. “Tonight (I’m Fucking You)” is today’s answer to Frank Sinatra‘s “The Way You Look Tonight.”

Fun game: See how many of these haircuts you can spot during your next trip to Wal-Mart.

INSCRUTABLE JEFFREY TROTTER
Speaking of old shit, I’m voting “Be My Baby” by The Ronettes and “Bye, Bye Baby” by the Bay City Rollers.

ANDREW HICKS
I should’ve known out of all my friends, Jeff Trotter would know a second song by the Bay City Rollers.

J.MIZ
I’m gonna go classic, too. I grew up in the hood, and I love me some Ronnie, Bobby, Ricky, Mike, Johnny and Ralph. New Edition, fam! “Candy Girl” and “Mr. Telephone Man” launched me into a Dating Black Men Exclusively decade.

INSCRUTABLE JEFFREY TROTTER
Another great (and once totally obscure) song had new life breathed into it by Quentin Tarantino. “Hold Tight” by Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick and Tich is a great, great song. Quentin worked a bit of dialogue about it into the opening of Death Proof. It’s the song playing when Kurt Russell plows his car into the car of hot chicks.

ANDREW HICKS
A quick list of my guilty boy band/girl group favorites – Wilson Phillips “Hold On,” Color Me Badd “Slow Motion,” The Veronicas “4 Ever,” Five “When the Lights Go Out,” Bad Boys Blue “Save Your Love,” Az Yet “Hard to Say I’m Sorry,” B2K “Bump Bump Bump,” Evan and Jaron “From My Head to My Heart.”

J.MIZ
HOLY SHIT HICKS! My vagina has no idea who half of those people are.

ANDREW HICKS
Wait till Ryan Krause weighs in on this shit. He’s gonna make me look like a tough brute man.

J.MIZ
I do like “Buttons” and “Don’t Cha” by the Pussycat Dolls A LOT. Those songs, pumped at fiddy cent draft night at the club, could make momma go shake that money maker with a guy who could dance and was ideally not gay.

MICHELLE DEE
“Don’t Cha” pissed me off for two reasons. First, why is this bitch trying to get up on my man? And second, why do I suddenly want to turn lez? Those bitches are HOT!

PROBABLY MATT LINVILLE
Any LFO song. I mean, they were dreamy… And what about that white girl group that P Diddy manufactured? Dream or something, right? They had a song or two that made my nipples hard.

RYAN KRAUSE
Alright, you guys. I’m taking over this thread. Y’all go back to Farmville. It’s time for the Krausie Awards.

BEST GIRL GROUP SONG I TURN UP IN MY CAR WHEN THE WINDOWS ARE DOWN
Destiny’s Child, “Jumpin’ Jumpin'”

BEST SONG SO RETARDED THAT IT BECOMES BOY BAND DREAMINESS
LFO, “Girl on TV”

BEST BOY BAND SONG DEFENDING BOY BANDS
*NSYNC, “Pop”

^ Exists.

BEST HOMOSEXUAL MAN BAND SONG
Bearforce 1, “Bearforce 1”

BEST SONG BY FICTIONAL BOY BAND
Whoa, “Rub One Out” (from 2Gether movie)

BEST BOY BAND JUNIOR HIGH SLOW DANCE SONG
98 Degrees, “I Do (Cherish You)”

BEST BOY BAND SONG EVER RECORDED IN THE HISTORY OF TIME
*NSYNC, “Tearin’ Up My Heart,” because goddammit, it’s my favorite.

